When you join the Liberal Democrats, you join the national party.

This gives you the right to attend the annual conference, to vote on party policy and to participate in leadership elections.

Depending on your home address you will normally be assigned to a parliamentary constituency – in our case Chippenham.

The Chippenham Constituency has four area branches, each based on one of the local towns: Chippenham, Corsham, Melksham and Bradford on Avon.


The Bradford on Avon Area Branch covers five Unitary (Wiltshire) Council Wards, the Bradford Town Council and several Parish Councils in surrounding villages.

The Unitary Council Wards are:

• Bradford (South);

• Bradford (North);

• Westwood and Winsley – including Limpley Stoke and Wingfield;

• Holt and Staverton – including South Wraxall and Monkton Farleigh;

• and Hilperton.

Further information on the electoral boundaries can be found at: Election Maps.




As well as fighting elections for seats at Westminster, Wiltshire, Town and Parish Councils our local branch also runs several social, political, campaigning and fundraising events throughout the year.

These are normally open to members, supporters and guests.

Forthcoming events are listed below and on our Facebook page.